top of page
Search
Writer's pictureErik Evans

"I make music to see what I can create! I have no idea what can come out of me"

Updated: Sep 14, 2021

VLonley Sit down with Erik Evy - March 1, 2021

Link Here



Some Background on Erik

VL: What's the meaning behind your stage name and how did you get it?

EE: It's basically my full name, just the last name is shortened a little bit. I want my true name on my work because I'm proud of it.

VL: That's great! Tell me a little more about yourself, where are you from?

EE: I'm 24 years old from Glen Ellyn ,IL (Chicago suburbs). I grew up pretty much on alternative and hip hop. Introduced to hip hop by some kids in school in middle school. TI, Eminem, and Jeezy were my favorites. Then as a grew older a gained more appreciation for the talent of artists, and fell in love with how charismatic hip hop artists can be. The more I listened the more I realized I could add to it. So this project is my first thoughts.

VL: How did your musical career start?

EE: I started freestyling in friends basements in high school and slowly got better and better. I always thought about the idea of putting a project out... In college I started writing and after I graduated once quarantine came around, I began seriously writing. So I've been writing for almost a year now.

VL: Who are your favorite artists?

EE: Right now its Mac Miller, J Cole, Amine, Kota the Friend. Too many others to name



Erik Talks About Some of His Creative Process

VL: What are your greatest strengths as an artist?

EE: Having an ear for good beats, and spotting talent. I believe I have a nice idea of who fits well on certain songs, and the feeling music gives me. I am pretty good at putting together punchlines (probably thanks to Wayne haha) and I consider my feel for a cohesive sound on a project to be one of my strengths.

VL: Do you prefer to work with other artists or alone?

EE: Both! Whoever I work with I try to learn as much as I can. Ive only worked with a few artists in person, the rest have been virtual. But also there is no better feeling when you're locked in alone, and you know your creativity is flowing.

VL: What program do you like editing and creating in?

EE: Right now I'm using Audacity to record. It's pretty simple compared to the other platforms but I do eventually need to transition into logic, pro tools or Abelton.


Erik Describes His Style

VL: How would you define your style?

EE: My style isn't minimalist but I consider my clothing style pretty casual. However, I love dressing up for events. Music style: I'm trying to constantly change my sound. To me, the greats are able to stay prominent because they are able to change their style on different projects, but then use those experiments to help them perfect their own lane. Mac and Kanye are a few who come to mind from that. When you hear music, you associate that song with a time and place. When artists put out similar stuff, my belief is that you associate that new music with the place where you heard the old stuff, and it gets old. It's why Lebron doesn’t win MVP every year. Voters want to change it up. For this project Periscopes, I would describe this as a relaxed, campfire hip hop sound. Something laid back with calming sounds, but I wouldn't describe it as trippy.

VL: What do you do in your free time?

EE: Working out, playing golf and basketball. Definitely like going out with friends to booze, but I'm more of a dive bar person rather than a club.

VL: Why do you make music?

EE: I make music to see what I can create! I have no idea what can come out of me, and the process of writing and finding sounds is the most fun to me. And the bonus is if I can connect with people a certain way.


Erik Looks to The Future


VL: What are your goals as an artist?

EE: Release 3 projects in 2021, get a few major interviews on camera, and one music video. I have some number goals, but that's out of my control. I just have to continue to consistently put out quality content. I also have some ideas on how to work with bigger artists but i'll keep those secret for now.

VL: What is your biggest accomplishment as an artist?

EE: Right now its the 15k+ plays on my song “If My Boss Hears’ on Spotify. It was my first song I released, and people have enjoyed it. Ask me in a few months haha

VL: What are some things you want to work on in the future?

EE: I want to learn to play a few instruments. Right now I am nothing without a computer, I want to continue to experiment and push the ways we listen to music, I want to watch hip hop really become a global game, so connecting with different artists to tap into an undiscovered fan base.

VL: Where can we find you and your music?

EE: Twitter: @erikevymusic IG: erik.evy TIk Tok: @erikevymusic Streaming: https://linktr.ee/ErikEvy.

VL: Anything else you want to tell us

EE: I am releasing my first mixtape “Periscopes” on March 17th . This is really a beautiful thought from start to finish. I've had a ton of people help me with it, and I revealed a new layer of myself. I'm going to try to do that with every project I release.

1 view0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page