top of page
Search
Writer's pictureErik Evans

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH ‘ERIK EVY’

Illustrate Magazine - July 29, 2022

Full link to Article can be found



Rapper Erik Evy is from the Chicago area and draws inspiration from artists like Mac Miller, Amine, and J Cole.


His first album, “Periscopes,” which was released on March 17, 2021, reflects his carefree outlook. Erik wants to constantly surprise his audience with new sounds and ideas for each body of work. When he prepares to release his second project in 2022, this will become clear.

His lyrics are expansive, his optimism unmatched, and his creativity contagious. Erik perfectly expresses all of the feelings that make us human. Check out the music video & the exclusive interview below:


1. Can you tell us a bit about where you come from and how you got started?

ERIK EVY: I am from Glen Ellyn, IL a suburb of Chicago. I always was writing, but during covid I decided to go for it and start recording and networking online. I am very fortunate to be in a music rich city like Chicago.

2. Did you have any formal training or are you self-taught?

ERIK EVY: No formal training. I am not producing my music yet, but the goal is to become 100% involved, from start to finish with the creation of my music. YouTube has been a big tool in my success so far. I have found producers, teachers, internet personalities who have helped me think about how I approach my music. Our work as artists compounds on each other. When we release new music, we will develop new fans who will go back and listen to our earlier works! So monitarily, the music will continue to earn money and eventually will turn a nice profit.

3. Who were your first and strongest musical influences and why the nameERIK EVY’?

ERIK EVY: My first influences came from the artists my parents listened to, but as I explored on my own Green Day, Linkin Park, and Fall Out Boy were my favorite bands growing up. As I became a teen I dove into hip hop. Loved the charisma and worldplay of artists like Kanye, Lil Wayne, Jay Z, Cudi

4. What do you feel are the key elements in your music that should resonate with listeners, and how would you personally describe your sound?

ERIK EVY: My storytelling is what I want to stand out most to the listeners. I want to be able to paint a picture for the audience and take them to a certain place.


5. For most artists, originality is first preceded by a phase of learning and, often, emulating others. What was this like for you? How would you describe your own development as an artist and music maker, and the transition towards your own style, which is known as HIPHOP?


ERIK EVY:

Mac Miller was defintely someone I emulated at the beginning. Looking for producers who made similar styles of music online, and then eventually finding a core group of people to work with. The biggest development I had to hurdle, and what I am still hurdling is having that confident voice on the mic.


Perhaps it was because I started off with a cheaper mic, but the confidence did not shine through. Now I am developing my singing voice and it has been amazing to see the progress over the past year or so.


6. What’s your view on the role and function of music as political, cultural, spiritual, and/or social vehicles – and do you try and affront any of these themes in your work, or are you purely interested in music as an expression of technical artistry, personal narrative and entertainment?

ERIK EVY:

People can believe in whatever they want to believe as long as they go about it the right way. I try to preach optimism and overall good messages in my music. I’m sure that will take shape more as I grow into my career


7. Do you feel that your music is giving you back just as much fulfilment as the amount of work you are putting into it, or are you expecting something more, or different in the future?


ERIK EVY:

Yes! To me the most fun is writing, and seeing the creation come to life. Outside approval, or statistics are gravy. The goal is to be able to support myself and a team full time.


8. Could you describe your creative processes? How do usually start, and go about shaping ideas into a completed song? Do you usually start with a tune, a beat, or a narrative in your head? And do you collaborate with others in this process?


ERIK EVY:

To me, the biggest thing is being proactive in my work. If I can create songs, and save them for future dates, there is never a pressure that I need to create a song right on the spot. Typically I search YouTube for the beats, and I will let the writing process linger for a few days. I typically do not write a full song in one sitting. Personally, I am able to get the best perspective on a song if I can write it over a few days or weeks. From there, I let the music speak to me and communicate the feeling I am getting from the music. I rarely write a song before choosing the music. Then when it comes to assembling a project, I pick the songs that fit the project. The rest can be released later!


9. What has been the most difficult thing you’ve had to endure in your life or music career so far?


ERIK EVY: Learning different applications has been difficult, learning how to record and engineer on my own. The other difficulty has been gaining the security to tell people I make music. I have no problem sharing with the world or with people I have met over the internet, but I actually get nervous to share music with people who knew me before I made music.

I have gotten better at this, in part because I believe the music has become more legit, but it is something I will continue to work on.


10. On the contrary, what would you consider a successful, proud or significant point in your life or music career so far?


ERIK EVY: My first show in June at subterranean was a big moment. To be able to perform in front of a crowd told me that I am a legit performing artist. The other moment was releasing my first full mixtape in March of 2021. So in summary, the sense of accomplishment is to me the most successful part. I have fallen in love with the process of creating music. To see it come to life is extremely gratifying, regardless of how the music performs.


KEEP IN TOUCH:

5 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page